| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Laughing Assasin Group 1 Class
Joined: 18 Apr 2006 Posts: 471
|
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 8:45 am Post subject: Free Music Downloads |
|
|
I download a lot of music from the various sites and usually pay for the tracks but my son had kept telling me to go on limewire.
Now I must admit to being over cautious when it comes to downloading potential dodgy programmes but I finally gave in and under strict parental supervision I allowed him to download it.
What a revelation! I've now downloaded 140 tracks in the last 2 days and it hasn't cost me a penny.
It's good for single tracks more than complete albums but I've found virtually every track I've searched for and I'm now reliving my youth with some of the stuff I've found.
I might even start drinking Pernod and Lemonade again and buy some two tone trousers, although the waist size might be a big bigger than the last pair I had
Try it and see what you think www.limewire.com
LA |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Antony OLBG Stallion
Joined: 26 Mar 2003 Posts: 5757
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
onaed At Stud
 Read My Blog!
Joined: 26 Jul 2005 Posts: 4843 Location: Birmingham
|
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 12:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What sites do you use ?
Im thinking of buying some downloads instead of buyin them from shops |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Stuart Wilson Group 2 Class
Joined: 17 Sep 2004 Posts: 223
|
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 1:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If I were you I would cease to use this immediately, aside from it being highly illegal, it also installs viruses, adware spyware and various other malicious programs and so on.
I would uninstall it and run a total scan of your computer immediately mate. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
lazystakes Classic Winner
Joined: 26 Apr 2007 Posts: 972 Location: Hertfordshire
|
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 1:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I Second that apart from it being illegal (although there could be much worse things you could do) it installs virus , trojans and a whole lot of other nasty stuff
Also i have seen some pretty sick stuff listed on there when searching for song titles in the past which lead me to believe it maybe linked to paedaphille rings or something
Once i saw that it was removed from my computer and never used again
SERIOUSLY I'D LOSE IT ASAP _________________ 3rd in Copa America Comp
2nd out of 3115 in Sun Poker Free-Roll |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Laughing Assasin Group 1 Class
Joined: 18 Apr 2006 Posts: 471
|
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 1:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks Stuart, I'll check that out.
I'm a bit surprised that my Norton and Spyware didn't pick anything up though and I did check all the boards on various web sites to establish that the majority of users now say there is no malware on the site.
Onaed, the one I have used which is legal as far as I know is www.mp3sugar.com
This is really cheap because they are based in Russia and I've used it for over a year without any spyware problems etc
LA |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
yoyoleo Triple Crown Winner
Joined: 07 Jul 2006 Posts: 1336 Location: south london
|
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 5:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
found limewire to be very dodgy myself..dont always get what you think your downloading and would agree with all that have suggested removing from your pc and running a full system search...remember you get what you pay for so anything free is to be viewed with a raised eyebrow...what are they hoping to get from you..  _________________ "proper words in proper places,make the true defination of style" jonathan swift
master minded..champion chase winner 2009/2010/2011. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Stuart Wilson Group 2 Class
Joined: 17 Sep 2004 Posts: 223
|
Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 10:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
The best computer scan I've used is from:
http://housecall.trendmicro.com/uk/
It does take a while to do it's check, but it's very thorough and it gets rid of what it finds, and it's from a very legitamite source, and it's totally free. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Laughing Assasin Group 1 Class
Joined: 18 Apr 2006 Posts: 471
|
Posted: Thu May 01, 2008 12:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Just an update to my previous postings.
All the observations were correct and when you download a track Limewire does load pop ups and other malware on your computer.
Thanks for all your advice, I've now stopped using it.
LA |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
deco121 At Stud
 Read My Blog!
Joined: 08 Aug 2006 Posts: 4442 Location: Cork, Ireland
|
Posted: Thu May 01, 2008 12:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Been using it for years and never had any trouble. The files that aren't genuine are only a few kb 99% of the time so their easy to spot without clicking them.
I've found some songs on there that I couldn't have found with years of searching elsewhere - ie. Storm by 4th Dimension...anyone remember that one?  _________________ Racing tips in 2007 = +201.04 (LSP)
Racing tips in 2008 = +82.31 (LSP)
* stats updated July 29th |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
LuckyMe Handicapper
Joined: 12 May 2008 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Tue May 13, 2008 11:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
| I don't like Limewire, too many fake files. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
dorrian3 Group 3 Class
Joined: 10 May 2008 Posts: 74
|
Posted: Tue May 13, 2008 3:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
frostwire is simular to limewire
alot of fakes and sick stuff on it
just be careful |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|